Library Blog

Annette

Annette is a youth librarian at the Poland library. Besides loving to read books to kids, she enjoys knitting, watching true crime documentaries, listening to podcasts and baking all with her faithful, canine companion, Timber, by her side.

The Latest From Annette

Author Spotlight: Rita Williams-Garcia

New York Times best-selling author, Rita Williams-Garcia, writes novels for children and young adults. Her novels have won a number of awards, including the Coretta Scott King Award and a Newbery Honor Award. Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Renee Watson and Christopher Paul Curtis may find themselves enjoying the well-developed, character driven stories in Williams-Garcia’s novels.   When her kindergarten classmates… read more >>

Don’t Believe Everything You Read – YA Unreliable Narrators

boy engrossed in reading a book

Nobody likes to be lied to. And when we read, we expect the narrator to tell us the truth. But what happens when you can’t rely on the narrator telling you the story? Usually, you end up with a compelling read full of twists and turns and shocking endings. And you’ll begin to question if you’ll ever be reading… read more >>

A Sign of the Times with Babies

International week of the deaf logo

Babies can communicate and gesture with their hands long before they can speak.  There are many beneficial reasons that support babies learning American Sign Language (ASL): increase caregiver-child bond and communication and improve self–esteem for both adult and baby.   Signing with your baby is not a new fad.  Historically, signing with babies goes back to the 1800’s… read more >>

Rights of Deaf or Hard of Hearing Children

International week of the deaf logo

It is International Week of the Deaf!  First launched in 1958, it is an annual celebration of the global Deaf Community.  This worldwide celebration is held yearly during the last full week of September, the same month that the first World Congress of the World Federation of the Deaf was held.  This year, the theme is “Reaffirming Deaf People’s… read more >>

Book Titles for International Week of the Deaf

International week of the deaf logo

International Week of the Deaf is celebrated annually by the global Deaf Community on the last week of September.  This year it runs from September 21st through September 26. Below are printable lists of DVDs or books on deafness and deaf culture for youth, teen, adults and all ages. DVD’s about Deafness Book titles about… read more >>

First Chapters: Beezus and Ramona

first-chapters-books

This week’s First Chapters book is Beezus and Ramona, the first in the Ramona Quimby series by Beverly Cleary. To listen, please call 330-259-3394.  If you enjoy this first chapter, you can read the rest of the book and the others in the series by requesting the book for Curbside Pickup by calling 330-259-3399. Or you can download the books instantly from Hoopla. … read more >>

Sally Ride Day

sally-ride

May 26 is recognized as “Sally Ride Day,” to honor astronaut and astrophysicist Sally Ride, the first woman in space. The library has many books and resources so you can read more about this amazing woman. e-Books Astronaut and Physicist Sally Ride by Margaret J. Goldstein. Sally Ride loved science, but her teachers thought it was a waste of time to learn. Thankfully, she didn’t listen;… read more >>

Are you True Crime Obsessed?

true crime

If you’ve listened to the popular podcast and are now looking to watch some of the documentaries, look no further than Hoopla – available through the Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County. All titles on Hoopla are free with your PLYMC library card – no streaming service required! Crazy Love Filmmaker Dan Klores recounts the true story of one of the… read more >>