Library Blog

The Latest From Ginny Hazy

Learning Library: Felting

Needle felting is a craft that sounds way more complex than it actually is. Learn how to turn felt pieces into a fun summer garland or beautiful butterfly. Felting: Part One Learn how to turn felt pieces into a fun summer garland with librarian Amelia from PLYMC.   Felting: Part Two Follow Amelia as she teaches us how to… read more >>

DIY Sidewalk Chalk Paint Recipes

child lying near chalk drawing of wings

Everyone wants to be able to create beautiful driveway or sidewalk art, but chalk can be hard to find these days. Here are a couple of recipes for sidewalk chalk paint that are easy, non-toxic, and use everyday household items.  Sidewalk Chalk Paint  Materials: 3 cups cornstarch  3 cups water (more or less depending on how thick… read more >>

Create Your Very Own Fairy Garden

Fairy garden

Summer is here, so let’s get creative and make a Fairy Garden!  This is a great activity that the entire family can enjoy and share together.  You can use materials found around the house and in your very own backyard.  You can create your Fairy Garden in containers of different shapes and sizes, in flower… read more >>

Tween Books by Black Authors

tween boy reading

Amplify and celebrate Black voices by adding these tween books by Black authors to your TBR.  Betty Before X by Ilysah Shabazz and Renee Watson  Woke A Young Poets call to Justice by Mahogany Browne   Day of Tears: A Novel in Dialogue by Julius Lester   Blended by Sharon Draper   For Black Girls Like Me by Mariama Lockington  Like Vanessa by Tami Charles  Check out these additional titles:   The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johson  Finding Langston by Lesa Cline-Ransome  One Crazy… read more >>

Marnie’s Spanish 101: Animals – Los Animales

spanish blog

Spanish for Kids – Español Para Niños ¡Hola Amigos! Welcome to our weekly Spanish 101 blog for kids! Check in every Tuesday for a new list of great resources, book suggestions, activities and songs to help your little ones learn Spanish and have fun while doing it!   This week, let’s learn some animal names in Spanish! As you go about your day, or read a book… read more >>

It’s a Scary, Scary World

ominous red forest

Get your campfire ready, wait ‘til dark, and download one of these super scary novels!  We aren’t responsible for damage to devices that are dropped on the ground or in the fire due to sheer fright. The Haunting of Hill House, by Shirley Jackson  This classic, published in 1959, is the consummate haunted house tale.  Still… read more >>

Two-Ingredient Cake

cake step three

Want to make a dessert without all the fuss? Don’t have very many ingredients in your cupboard? Then this dessert is for you!  It requires only two ingredients with very little effort or time.    Ingredients: 1 Yellow Cake Mix (White Cake Mix or Angel Food Cake can be used as well)  1 Can Crushed Pineapple  Directions: Preheat oven to temperature on back of cake… read more >>

Try a Podcast While You’re Sheltering-in-Place

podcast

Looking for something to do while there is a stay-at-home situation? Try a podcast. Gina from the Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County OH has three podcast suggestions: The Big Loop, an anthology series with Paul Bae; The Black Tapes, a fictional series by Paul Bae and Terry Miles; and The Bright Sessions, a… read more >>

Author Spotlight: Stephen King

child with red balloon

The world’s best-known author has published over 70 best-selling novels and short story collections, and his works have been adapted into over 50 movie and television adaptations.  King is known as the master of horror, with a gift for descriptive language and suspense.    Fans of Dean Koontz, H.P. Lovecraft, Dan Simmons, Jonathan Kellerman, and Robert McCammon who… read more >>

Virtual Book Club: ‘Educated’ by Tara Westover

Educated book

Virtual Book Club Chooses ‘Educated’ as First Read – Join In! Join the new virtual book club with partners YSU Alumni and Friends, YSU’s Maag Library and the Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County. Following a survey, the book “Educated”  by Tara Westover was chosen as the first selection. The book was 2018 Goodreads Choice winner…. read more >>