Library Blog

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Read-Alikes

diary-wimpy

If you read and enjoyed the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, why not give these read-alikes a try?

What is a read-alike? A read-alike is a book or author similar in style to another book or author.

Why choose a read-alike?  When you’re looking for something new to read, a read-alike is a great place to start, because it will be similar to a book you already love.

Read-Alike Titles

Origami Yoda series by Tom Angleberger.  Does a Yoda finger puppet created by middle school misfit Dwight really have magical abilities?  The other kids are determined to find out in this amusing, illustrated series.

 

I Funny series by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein.  Middle School student Jamie enters a local comedy contest as part of his quest to become the world’s greatest stand-up comic, but worries that the judges will only see his wheelchair. Along the way, he deals with typical middle school problems, and his evil, bullying cousin.

 

The Losers Club by Andrew Clements.  By the acclaimed author of Frindle, this funny and upbeat novel features book-loving hero, Alec. No longer allowed to read in class, Alec starts a reading group for some peace and quiet—but things don’t quite go according to plan.

 

Dork Diaries series by Rachel Renee Russell.  This funny, angst-filled series features female protagonist Nikki Maxwell as she experiences all the ups, downs, and drama of middle school life. The illustrated diary format should appeal to readers who enjoyed Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

 

Wonkenstein by Obert Skye. The first book in the Creature From My Closet series features a touch of fantasy, along with funny illustrations, a relatable middle school hero, and a beast that appears to be part Frankenstein’s monster/part Willy Wonka.

 

The Terrible Two  series by Mac Barnett.  Two fifth-grade practical jokers begin as rivals but soon join forces to pull off the biggest, most epic prank of all time in this quirky, funny, sometimes over-the-top series; humorous black and white cartoons add to the fun.


All of these titles can be found on the library’s  digital catalog.

Don’t have a library card? You can apply for a digital card today.


Vikki is a youth services librarian at the Poland/Struthers/Brownlee Woods libraries, which is convenient because kids and books are two of her favorite things.  Her other favorites include  reading mysteries and historical fiction, chocolate, and most of all, spending time with her family.