Library Blog

It’s National Scrabble Day!

Scrabble board game

Dust off your dictionaries, put on your thinking caps, and pull out your Scrabble boards because today is National Scrabble Day! The ever-challenging, yet highly entertaining word game has been helping people practice their spelling skills and build their vocabularies for over 70 years! To celebrate National Scrabble day, let’s take a look at the… read more >>

Dial a Story Menu

Dial-A-Story-logo

Check out the library’s exciting new service: Dial A Story!    If you love story times and audiobooks, or if you want to participate in library programs but don’t have access to a computer, you can simply call in to our special phone number to hear recordings read by our librarians and special guests.  We read picture books, chapter books, poetry, short… read more >>

The Grimm Origins of Your Favorite Movies

black and white drawing of sleeping beauty

There are few storytellers as notable as the Brothers Grimm. Known for their dark versions of popular fairy tales, Jacob Grimm and his younger brother Wilhelm Grimm get in motion many a motion picture inspired by their dark tales. The two brothers always had a love of folklore and legend and often gathered stories from people in various communities… read more >>

Author Spotlight: Rita Williams-Garcia

New York Times best-selling author, Rita Williams-Garcia, writes novels for children and young adults. Her novels have won a number of awards, including the Coretta Scott King Award and a Newbery Honor Award. Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Renee Watson and Christopher Paul Curtis may find themselves enjoying the well-developed, character driven stories in Williams-Garcia’s novels.   When her kindergarten classmates… read more >>

Middle School Fantasy Books

In Darkling Wood book cover

Explore the paranormal worlds of fairies, scarecrows, ghosts and sorceresses with a little creepiness thrown in. These books are sure to keep you up all night long!    In Darkling Wood by Emma Carroll  Forced to stay with a grandma she’s never met while her brother gets a heart transplant, Alice finds comfort in the Darkling Wood. Situated near her grandma’s… read more >>

Let’s celebrate Deaf History Month!

Every year from March 13th through April 15th, everyone should join in and celebrate Deaf History Month. This month is dedicated to those within the Deaf community who have advocated for change for those within the Deaf communities across the country and the world.    Some argue what the key moments within the American History for the Deaf are,… read more >>

eBook spotlight: Bird Crafting

When referring to eBooks, many people tend to think of fiction titles, but almost any type of book can be found in the eBook format. The Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County offers a large selection of eBooks available for checkout from their digital catalog, OverDrive, and the best part is that you can… read more >>