Literary Society

Ladies in Little Black Dresses Committee and Sponsors

Working to make the Ladies in Little Black Dresses Fundraiser a success are these committee members and sponsors: (from left) Cathy Campana,  Betty Cmil, Phyllis Bacon (sponsor – Vince & Phyllis Bacon Fund), Christine Muransky (sponsor – Muransky Companies), Carol Sankovic, Alexa Sweeney Blackann (sponsor – Sweeney Chevrolet, Buick, GMC), Shirley Neher, and Deborah Liptak, Library Development Director. Missing from the photo are committee members Linda Lanterman, Doris Layfield, Susan Berny, Donna Nord, and Kathy Dwinnells.

Author Events Bring Great Books to Life!

Literary Society logoDonation Books buttonThe Library’s Literary Society was launched in 2005, the Library’s 125th anniversary year. The Literary Society is comprised of generous individuals who care deeply about the Library and would like to bring to our community special programs, including noted authors, to celebrate reading and literacy.

The Literary Society’s first author event, in October 2005, featured Pulitzer Prize nominated author, Mary Doria Russell. Each year, the Literary Society features noted authors such as: award-winning crime novelist Laura Lippman; Cleveland’s famous mystery author Les Roberts; Scott London, internationally known journalist and photographer; and New York Times bestselling authors Adriana Trigiani, Lisa Scottoline, Tess Gerrittsen, and Carol Higgins Clark.

To find out more about how your gift can make a lasting difference in your community, contact Deborah Liptak, Development Director, at (330) 740-6086 or click here to email:

 Each year, the Literary Society features noted authors such as:
CJ-BoxLouise-PennyLisa Gardner
C.J. Box
Best-selling Author
Louise Penny
Best-selling author
Lisa Gardner
Best-selling author
Jennifer Weiner READ posterJessica Fellowes READ posterCarol Higgins Clark READ poster
Jennifer Weiner
Best-selling Author
Jessica Fellowes
Author of Downton
Abbey Bestsellers
Carol Higgins Clark
Best-selling Author
David Lee Morgan, Jr.
Sports Writer & Author
Beverly Lewis
Best-selling author
Tess Gerritsen
Best-selling Author
Adriana Trigiani READ posterLisa Scottoline READ poster
Adriana Trigiani
Best-selling Author
Lisa Scottoline
Best-selling Author