Literary Society

Join us for the Literary Society Event Featuring Mary Kay Andrews

Download and print the Literary Society invitation.

Download and listen to Mary Kay Andrews latest audiobooks through Hoopla.

Thurs., Aug. 17, 2017

Mary Kay Andrews is the New York Times bestselling author of 24 novels including THE WEEKENDERS, BEACH TOWN, LADIES’ NIGHT, SUMMER RENTAL, DEEP DISH and HISSY FIT.

One Reservation: $70 

Doors Open: 6 p.m., cocktails & appetizer reception

Author Presentation & Autograph Session: 7 p.m.

Admission price includes a copy of  “The Beach House Cookbook”

• Appetizers • Cash Bar • Raffle • Book Signing • Music • Literary Society Membership • Dessert • Glass of Wine • Seating for cocktail hour • Roncone Studios will be on hand to take photos of you with the author

THE LITERARY SOCIETY COMMITTEE for the Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County is planning the upcoming author event featuring Mary Kay Andrews. Members of the committee pictured are: (front, from left) Pat Marsico, Julie Costas, Anna Marie Jones, Donna Bricker, Rose Ann Gavozzi, (back) Beth Lenzi, Jacie Mettee, Amy Chismar, Ruth Nabb, Betty Cmil and Deborah Liptak, Library Development Director. Sponsors of the event include: Denise DeBartolo York, The Frank and Pearl Gelbman Charitable Trust – Huntington Bank Trust, James and Carol Bacon Charitable Trust, Judge Mary DeGenaro, Deborah Liptak and Margaret Hamel-McCloud.

For more information, contact Deborah Liptak, Development Director at 330.740.6086 or e-mail:

Thank you to these generous Literary Society sponsors:

Platinum Sponsor:
Denise DeBartolo York
The Frank & Pearl Gelbman Charitable Trust – Huntington Bank Trust
James & Carol Bacon Charitable Trust

Silver Sponsor:
Judge Mary DeGenaro

Bronze Sponsor:
Eugenia & Richard Atkinson
Deborah S. Liptak
Margaret Hamel-McCloud
Sonia Kennedy – Youngstown Granite
Theresa Trucksis Hickey

Author Events Bring Great Books to Life!

Literary-Society-Logo-webdonationbooksThe Library’s Literary Society was launched in 2005, the Library’s 125th anniversary year. The Literary Society is comprised of generous individuals who care deeply about the Library and would like to bring to our community special programs, including noted authors, to celebrate reading and literacy.

The Literary Society’s first author event, in October 2005, featured Pulitzer Prize nominated author, Mary Doria Russell. Each year, the Literary Society features noted authors such as: award-winning crime novelist Laura Lippman; Cleveland’s famous mystery author Les Roberts; Scott London, internationally known journalist and photographer; and New York Times bestselling authors Adriana Trigiani, Lisa Scottoline, Tess Gerrittsen, and Carol Higgins Clark.

To find out more about how your gift can make a lasting difference in your community, contact Deborah Liptak, Development Director, at: (330) 740-6086 or click here to email:

 Each year, the Literary Society features noted authors such as:
C.J. Box
Best-selling Author
Jennifer Weiner
Best-selling Author
Jessica Fellowes
Author of Downton
Abbey Bestsellers
Carol Higgins Clark
Best-selling Author
Tess-GerritsenAdrianaTrigianiLisa Scottoline 24x36-PATHS
Tess Gerritsen
Best-selling Author
Adriana Trigiani
Best-selling Author
Lisa Scottoline
Best-selling Author